Menu Search

The Chief Electoral Officer

The Office of Chief Electoral Officer

The Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) is an officer of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. The CEO is appointed by the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories to a four year term, and reports to the Legislative Assembly through the Speaker.

The CEO administers territorial elections, by-elections, and plebiscites to ensure they are fair and free of political influence, in accordance with the Elections and Plebiscites Act.

The CEO is the head of Elections NWT, a public agency comprised of public servants, contract staff, and election officers.

Nicole Latour, Current CEO

Prior to her appointment as Chief Electoral Officer in November 2014, Ms. Latour served as Deputy Chief Electoral Officer with Elections NWT. 

An Indigenous Northerner, Ms. Latour was born, raised, and has lived in a number of the smaller communities throughout the Northwest Territories. 

Ms. Latour holds a Commerce degree and other academic accreditations including a Certificate with Honours in Adult Education.

She has made a number of notable professional contributions throughout the north during her career, including serving as Mayor of Fort Liard, as a coroner in Yellowknife, and being appointed the first female Sergeant at Arms for the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. 

Previous CEOs

Nicole Latour (2014  –  present) 
David M. Brock (2010 – 2014)
Saundra Arberry (2007 – 2009)
Glen W. McLean (2004 – 2007)
David Hamilton (1997 – 2004)